Camper Winter Storage

Discussion in 'Tips & Tricks' started by Chuckwagon, Oct 11, 2014.

1. Chuckwagon

Chuckwagon Junior Ranger

Any tips on storing the Teardrop during the winter? We live in the humid south and I'm concerned about mildew.

2. STEVEandJAN

STEVEandJAN Newbie

We also would be interested. We are getting ready to move on to a boat full-time but want to keep and use our camper. It's been in our garage where it's been kept clean, protected and charged up ready to go. But we are going to sell our house and then our camper won't have it's happy home. What do folks do for storing their camper when they don't have a garage or a house ? Commercial outdoor storage ? Covered storage? Interior controlled climate storage ? Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

3. Les Izmore

Les Izmore Junior Ranger

I have no direct experience for either Chuckwagon or Steve and Jan, but I'll share my uninformed thoughts.

Chuckwagon - Hardware stores carry various dessicant products that should help to prevent mildew while stored, by taking moisture out of the air. I seem to recall that there is a brand call Dri-Z-Air or something similar, and there are lots of options on Amazon.com. They are stocked with the household cleaners and probably other locations in the big box stores. If you can store it indoors, I would recommend keeping it opened up (doors open, screens up, if you have them). If you store it outdoors hopefully you don't have to store it in the open under a cover, as I suspect that could trap a lot of moisture.