Carolina soon-to-be empty nesters want Teardrop!

Discussion in 'Meet & Greet' started by Theresa, Jan 20, 2011.

1. Theresa

Theresa Novice

Hi, all! We’re new here and are very interested in buying a teardrop trailer. I would greatly appreciate y’all’s opinions. Everything I know about the Camp Inn teardrops is garnered from research, and I fully understand that real life experience trumps reading!

We’ve been avid tent campers for years, and now that our kids are almost out the door we’re looking to move up to a small camper. I think we’d be very happy with the teardrop. It won’t cost every cent in our bank account to buy, and it’ll meet our needs well. I’m a planner, and my husband just happily goes along. He’ll love the teardrop, but he isn’t interested in obsessing over whether to get this or that detail.

Thanks for any help you can provide us! Please post comments on anything I’ve said and let me know where my inexperience is making me unrealistic. We are complete beginners to this subject!

First things first: We’re looking at buying the 550 body style. The larger 560 is awfully tempting – that sofa and larger cabin area would be very nice on rainy or cold days – but the practical part of me says that we would stay home on rainy days (we are fair weather campers), and since our kids are almost out of the house the 550 is space enough for the two of us. My only reason for going with the larger model would be in anticipation of grandchildren, but grandchildren old enough to go on outings with grandparents are at least 15 years in our future, and I can’t see letting that sway our choices today.