New Vs. Used - Your Take On It?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Lynne & Scott, Mar 22, 2018.

1. Lynne & Scott

Lynne & Scott Junior Ranger Donating Member

I am certain this has been a thread before so I apologize in advance for the question-if it has been beaten to death in this forum already (newbie here). We are in the market for a Camp-Inn and have to pose the question. New Camp-Inn or Pre-owned Camp-Inn- what is your story? I have seen many posts where those seeking used ones ended up purchasing a new one and those who were planning on buying new found a used unit to call their own. We are still on the fence. Pro’s and con’s that you have found? Would you do it differently if given the chance?

2. Randy

Randy Ranger Donating Member

I'll kick it off with the obvious answer. When ordering, you get exactly the options that you want including any customization such as a specific solar port, stereo, etc. Some options can be added after the fact, but many cannot.

For me, the only options I regret are the couple that I didn't get!!! (sure wish I would have ordered those grab bars!). Watching the build progress and anticipating the completion date is also a lot of (agonizing) fun.

Hope that helps,

Randy

Last edited: Mar 22, 2018
    Lynne & Scott likes this.
  3. Tour 931

Tour 931 Ranger

Think resale value. Since CI's have such a good resale value a person doesn't save all that much buying used.

For example in 2001 I bought a 2001 Ford Crown Victoria with 4,500 miles on it. The MSRP was around $27,000 which meant it could be bought for around $22 to $25 thousand. I purchased the car with low miles for $16,800 because it did not have a good resale value. I was also looking at other cars with good resale values. A new $27,000 car with good resale value would have cost me $25,000.

Just my two cents worth but because of inflation I'm charging a nickel.

4. rotus8

rotus8 Ranger Donating Member