Shakedown: Flowing Lake County Park

Discussion in 'Adventures & Excursions' started by Tour 931, Apr 15, 2018.

1. Tour 931

Tour 931 Ranger

I am a ten year veteran of teardrop traveling but am finding my prior experience in a Little Guy (LG) does not give me much wisdom when it comes to the Camper-Inn. The LG was a basic shell to sleep in and not much more.

My first double digit road trip will be in 5 days and I will be gone a total of 18 days. This is nothing to the 10 and 12 week road trips I've done in the LG. But I now have so much more to learn about traveling in the CI. I say traveling because that is what I do. I am very seldom in the same spot two nights. When I do stop it is usually not at a campground but rather a truck stop, rest area or even a Walmart parking lot. Anyplace that offers a bathroom 24 hours.

Wait wasn't this thread about Flowing Lake? Yes we drove 54 miles roundtrip to spend one night in the CI. We ate before leaving and got there at dust. So we spent a few hours playing cards and games and in general just checking out how I raised the back of the sofa and put in battery puck lights. It rained all night and I only ventured out once when nature called. In the morning we just jumped in the Outback and drove off in our pj's.

Flowing Lake itself is nothing to write home about other than it is a spot close by where you can have full power, rest rooms and a campfire.