Double Sleeping Bag?

Discussion in 'Other Gear & Equipment' started by Randy, Nov 6, 2016.

1. Randy

Randy Ranger Donating Member

I really like camping this time of year in So Cal (lots of available sites), but didn't get the furnace option and rarely have shore power. It does get down in the 20-30s sometimes at elevation. I have been lo9oking into zero degree double wide sleeping bags. I like the Grizzly and Mammouth brands so far. Nice flannel lining and zippers on both sides. Wondering if anyone has a double bag that they particularly like. Thanks!!

2. jfocallag

jfocallag Junior Ranger Donating Member

I have the furnace and a small electric heater when I have hook ups. I have camped over New Years with temps in the mid 20s.

Even with a heat source, getting the foot of the bed warm is a challenge. I have a north face 15 degree large mummy bag that I stick in between the sheets when it is that cold. I have a Hudson Bay wool blanket and lightweight comforter from LL Bean on top of that.

If I didn't already have the mummy bag, I would get something like the Dolomite bag that Jenn mentions. I find flannel too warm and as Jenn says, too difficult to move around in.

As the say, your mileage may vary.

3. birder526

birder526 Novice

Hi! Down is an amazing insulator. Plus it's light weight when you're covered by it. At times when it isn't needed it packs away small. Works beautifully!

4. rgupnorth

rgupnorth Junior Ranger Donating Member

So birder 526 - are you liking your R-Pod?

birder526 likes this.
  5. Larry Running

Larry Running Junior Ranger Donating Member

We found that 2 bags that fit perfectly on the bed are then two small with two bodies in them. We got larger bags that overlap in the middle when making the bed then have a Costco throw over them. One person who was "getting the tour" couldn't figure out why we had a transmission hump in the tear! We all had a good laugh at that.

Jenn likes this.
  6. Larry Running