Extension for side table

Discussion in 'Wish List' started by Bazza2154, Jul 24, 2011.

1. Bazza2154

Bazza2154 Novice

I would like to explore the possibility of creating an extension rod for the rear table.

I find that when the table is in place it makes it tight for two of us to work in the galley and reduces access to the sink.

My thought is to create an additional support that would attach on to the existing rear table supports but extend across the back of the Teardrop to allow the table to be attached further out.

Hard to put into works and award to make a mock up without the brackets as you would need another set of male/female brackets to attached to this extension.

Final design could incorporate a sliding system integrated into the table so you can adjust at will to site conditions.

We find with the Northern Breeze up and the side tent on one side we have spare space on this side that is not utilised.

Not being an engineer I'm not sure of the stresses or moments this extension would cause.

2. Jean W

Jean W Junior Ranger Donating Member

I have been thinking about finding a portable table for the same reason and leave the Camp Inn tables home. Such as a slumberjack stow away table. Larger, hopefully stands higher.

Hearing gasps thru the internet.

3. pat walsh

pat walsh Junior Ranger

We did not get the rear table because we did not want one in front of the galley. We use a simple table from Wal-Mart that folds in 1/2 and has adjustable legs. It is not as convenient as the camp inn table as we have to put it in the cabin when traveling but we have found it very versatile. It was cheap.

4. Evan

Evan Administrator Donating Member

Our solution is Lena cooks and I eat. Plenty of room in the kitchen that way. :)

5. Mick'nSarah

Mick'nSarah Junior Ranger

Evan, you are hilarious! :)